Lyle R. Heath Community Service Recognition Award

Accepting Nominations through March 30, 2017 for April 27, 2017 Award

The Sentinel Kiwanis Club of Missoula is soliciting nominations for the 29th annual Volunteer of the Year Award for the greater Missoula Area.  The award is named the Lyle R. Heath Community Service Award.  Sentinel Kiwanis annually recognizes two individuals: one for adults and one for youth grades K-12, who have demonstrated an unselfish donation of time, energy and talent to one or more non-profit organizations in the Missoula Area. 

Past award recipients include:
 1991    Willis H. Hill                                        1992    Ray Nicklay                              1993    Ruth Royter
1994    Delores Cederburg                           1995    Marv Horner                           1996    Dan Rude
1997    Margaret Robinson                          1998    Eva Amundson                       1999    Carol Graham
2000    Peggy Oldenfendt                            2001    Carol Runyon                          2002    Bill Hoffman
2003    Pepper Wilson                                    2004    Carma Gilligan                       2004    Charlie Pritchard (Youth)
2005    Carla Bauer                                          2006    Julie Pierrepont                     2007    Robert Deaton
2008    Irene Hornstein                                  2008    Sara Anderson (Youth)        2009    Alan Gabster
2009    Aleisha Gornick (Youth)                  2010    Lulu Winchell                          2010    Victoria Valentine (Youth)
2011    Jim McLean                                         2011    Miranda Tornatore (Youth) 2012    Daurine Spritzer
2012    Hannah Moreau (Youth)                 2013    Alvina Cyr                                 2013    Danielle Gornick (Youth)
2014    Dr. David Gray                                    2014    Gabrielle Sexton (Youth)     2015    Butch Baldwin 
2015    Glen Wheeler                                     2016     David Watt                              2016    Jessica Beers (Youth)

The award is named in memory of Lyle R. Heath, who was a member for over 26 years, and one of the founding members of the Sentinel Kiwanis Club. He was also extremely active in Boy Scouts, the Historical Museum at Fort Missoula and many other organizations.  In addition, Lyle was a multi-gallon blood donor to the Red Cross.  Each year’s recipient will exemplify Lyle Heath’s spirit of volunteerism.

A recognition plaque is awarded to the recipient and a permanent plaque of all winners is proudly displayed at the Historical Museum at Fort Missoula.  Missoula Volunteer Day is proclaimed in their honor jointly with the Board of County Commissioners of Missoula County and the Mayor of the City of Missoula.  The organization of the recipients’ choice will receive a cash donation of $250 to further its efforts.  The individual selected must have actively served on a voluntary basis with one or more non-profit organizations.  This public recognition should be seen as a way to thank individuals for their often unrecognized service.

Final selection of the award recipient will be made by a committee formed by Sentinel Kiwanis Club.    The award will be presented at the regular club meeting at 7:30 am on Thursday, April 27, 2017.  The committee reserves the right not to make an award.

To nominate an individual, please download the nomination form (see link below).  If the person has previously been nominated (but did not receive the award) please feel free to re-nominate the person by updating the information from the past year.  Any questions can be directed to any Sentinel Kiwanis member or to Bill Hoffman.

Bill Hoffman, Chair
Lyle R. Heath Community Service Award Committee


Download this form: heath nomination 2016.pdf

Or complete the form through Google Docs: